On April 3, 2002, the National Cambridge Collectors, Inc. proudly opened a premier glass museum in downtown Cambridge, Ohio. It houses a superb collection of Cambridge glassware produced by The Cambridge Glass Company from 1902 to 1958. The museum is located at 136 South Ninth Street, one block south of the main street of Cambridge, and is open April through October. The year 2002 marked the 100th anniversary of the making of the first piece of Cambridge Glass. The Museum Grand Opening celebration took during NCC Convention week on June 27, 2002.
The National Museum of Cambridge Glass display area is made up of 1250 lineal feet of 16" shelving, where visitors are able to experience a wide variety of examples of this admired glass. It is an awesome beauty of well-lit, sparkling glass and warm oak display cases.
The History of Glassmaking is represented using mannequins in 1100 square feet of exhibits with a mock furnace, tools, molds, and other items involved in the manufacturing process of fine handmade glassware. Within this area, visitors can see an etching table, a decorating area, and an engraving/cutting area.
Included in the museum is a 100 square foot Dining Room display. Using period furniture as its backdrop, the room is appointed in examples of a finely set table in the early 1900s.
The Sample Room played a very important part in the sales of The Cambridge Glass Company. Another 100 square foot room has been created to represent a Sample Room. This room uses original sample room furniture and shelving. The door itself is the original Sample Room door from The Cambridge Glass Company facility.
In addition to original Cambridge glassware, an area has been created to display reproductions. With the advent of reproductions, it is important that collectors learn to distinguish between original and reproduction items. This display will help to make these distinctions crystal clear.
Museum Gift Shop
The museum has a gift shop where visitors may purchase small glass items and select from a library of books that are for sale. Also available for purchase and viewing is the video "The Crystal Lady," which was an original Cambridge advertisement for glassware. In the future, the museum will offer a research room full of an outstanding collection of reference materials.
The museum is located at 136 South Ninth Street. It is handicaped accessible with plenty of parking available. It is open April through October: Wednesday - Saturday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; and Sunday, noon to 4 p.m. Closed Easter and July 4. Phone 740 432-4245. Tour groups are accepted during additional hours by calling 740-432-4245 in advance.
NCC Members admitted free
$3.00 General Admission
$2.00 AAA Discounted Admission
$2.00 Senior Citizen Admission
Children under 12 admitted free
On April 18, 2008, over 260 community and business leaders from the region gathered in Walnut Creek, OH, where the National Museum of Cambridge Glass was presented with the Eastern Ohio Development Alliance "Excellence in Tourism Award." The plaque is now on display at the museum as a testament to the hard work and dedication of the membership of the National Cambridge Collectors, Inc.